General Legal Partners

ELSA is the world’s largest independent law students’ organisation. We are present in 44 countries and over 350 universities all over Europe. We firmly believe that we can bring great recruitment opportunities, as well as branding visibility and affiliation with your firm’s identity, as a modern and innovative employer, amongst our wide membership. You can learn more about our membership through our Infographics Card and approach us at 

Council of Europe

The Council of Europe (CoE), based in Strasbourg (France), now covers virtually the entire European continent, with its 47 member countries. Founded on 5 May 1949 by 10 countries, the Council of Europe seeks to develop throughout Europe common and democratic principles based on the European Convention on Human Rights and other reference texts on the protection of individuals. Marija Pejčinović Burić (Croatia) began her position as Secretary General of the Council of Europe on 18 September, after being elected in June 2019 by the Parliamentary Assembly for a five-year mandate. It is a great honour for us, that she has accepted to be the Patron of ELSA.

International Bar Association

The International Bar Association (IBA), established in 1947, is the world’s leading organisation of international legal practitioners, bar associations, law firms and law societies. The IBA influences the development of international law reform and shapes the future of the legal profession throughout the world. It has a membership of more than 80,000 individual lawyers, and over 190 bar associations and law societies spanning 170 countries.


International Association of Lawyers

The International Association of Lawyers (UIA) is a global and multi-cultural organization for the legal profession. Established in 1927, it consists of members spread across 110 countries. It promotes professional development, learning and the Rule of Law while facilitating professional development, training as well as friendship, collegiality and networking among its members.

Learn more about the UIA and become a member here.

World Trade Organization

The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only international organization dealing with the global rules of trade between nations. The goal of the WTO is to improve the welfare of the people of the Member Countries by ensuring that trade flows as smoothly, predictably and freely as possible. The WTO currently consists of 161 Member Nations. As the WTO was born out of negotiations amongst the former GATT Contracting Parties, everything the WTO Members do is a result of negotiations. Therefore, the WTO, as an intergovernmental institution, is a place where Member governments seek to negotiate trade problems. The John H. Jackson Moot Court Competition, therefore, supports the WTO’s enforcement of the international trade rules via the Dispute Settlement Understanding system.

European Centre for Certification and Privacy

Europrivacy is the data protection certification scheme developed through the H2020 European Research Programme to certify conformity with the European General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and complementary national regulations. It is managed by an international board of expert and the European Centre for Certification and Privacy. More information available at

Apply for the Europrivacy course here!